On a crochet roll

On a crochet roll

I hope that everyone managed to stay relatively dry this weekend. My succulents got a good battering in the strong winds yesterday, but at least they’ve gotten a good soak. There were some stray leaves around the place which is good for propagation. Which reminds me that I should get some more pots for them to grow into.

The weather allowed me to catch up on my crochet. I finished up making the second of the baby cardigans that I started. Picking out an appropriate applique for the colourway was the most difficult. I ended up picking between a rose and cherry, with the cherry winning out. I had some dramas picking which button to use as well. But I finished the cardigan and am more than pleased with how it turned out.

IMG_6088cardigan

I thought I’d switch back to toy making post-cardigans. I’ve shied away from amigurumi because of the complex shapes and increases/decreases etc. BUT seeing as I’ve conquered The Cardigan, I saw no reason to tackle a complicated pattern. Granted I invested in a set of crochet hooks during the last Spotlight sale. Woops.

IMG_6205.JPG

I bought an amigurumi book years ago that has remained untouched for too long. I picked out a giraffe pattern and am happy to report that I’m almost done. All the pieces are made up and all that’s left is sewing them all together. I even put a jingly bell inside. I can’t wait to see him pieced together.

giraffe.png
I almost forgot about this long weekend – I always tell myself to book something in advance and always neglect to organise a thing! The last interstate trip I took was to FNQ, with the intention to snorkel and make the most of the warm weather. This time around we’re thinking Canberra. There are so many new restaurants popping up that I’m keen to try. Let’s see whether we make it down. I’ll report back on what we find!

Who else is excited for the long weekend? Are you up to anything fun?

3 thoughts on “On a crochet roll

  1. Giraffe is adorable, you talented talented woman!
    I am confused about this long weekend doodah. Queensland celebrates the Queen’s Birthday in October… lol so confused.

    1. Thanks love. I want to make more but there just aren’t enough hours in the day!

      I think some states have the public holiday on different days just to confuse you :( and me…

Leave a Reply

