Asia 2013: First stop, Manila.

Asia 2013: First stop, Manila.

The original reason for my travels was for my brother’s wedding. Of course it had to be during the most expensive time of year to travel, but that’s alright because I wouldn’t miss it for anything. They decided to have their ceremony at the same place my parents got married at just over 38 years ago – the world heritage listed San Agustin church in Intramuros.

church-wedding

The hotel slash reception venue was the Manila Peninsula, which was almost as spectacular as the church. I loved spending time in the massive foyer with the sparkly Christmas tree. The breakfast buffet here has got to be the best I’ve ever had (no exaggeration). Made-to-order omelettes, waffles, French toast, honey-bacon. I was in heaven. There was no way I’d skip brekkie in the mornings.

manila-penIn between the wedding craziness, we managed to fit in a few shopping trips which no doubt involved lots of food. I overdosed on Cinnabon. I do not kid, I crave it non-stop when I’m not in the Philippines so I ate enough rolls to closely resemble one by the end of the trip. In other news, H acquired a taste for San Mig beer.

food-shotsManila was very kind to us. This trip was probably the mildest weather I’ve encountered – not too hot and sticky. We really didn’t do much sight-seeing in the Philippines on this trip, mostly shopping and eating. Not that I’m complaining. It’s always a good excuse to come back.

weddingWe had our fair share of cocktails. 7 dollar cocktails. Is that even a question? I didn’t think so. I love how cheap everything seems to be in Manila. I somehow acquired 3 new pairs of shoes in one day of shopping.

cocktailsNext stop Singapore! To be continued in another post…

lights

 

2 thoughts on “Asia 2013: First stop, Manila.

Leave a Reply

