My slight cupcake obsession

My slight cupcake obsession

I’m not exactly sure what prompted my foray into baking the other weekend. Perhaps it was finding a box of angel food cake, or the countless ladies on IG that bake endless numbers of cupcakes and ice them beautifully. Either way. I made me some cupcakes. I picked up a box of Duncan Hines angel food cake mix from David Jones. It was as simple as adding water. The mix produced light and airy cakes that were cracked perfectly on top.

Cupcakes

I got my hands on a Wilton 1M piping tip, which does a decent cupcake swirl. I opted for some rosettes on the larger cupcakes, and used a French tip on some of the smaller ones. I used some Cath Kidston-esque patty pans. I love them! I’ve been using them on a few batches and am now running low. I need to find a new place to source some cheap patty pans.

Cupcakes

Cupcakes

Cupcakes

Then of course I had to put them in my cake dome. Just because they look so cute in there. Overall I’m not sure if the angel cake mix was the best choice for the cupcakes, but it certainly gave me the chance to try out the new piping tips. I can’t wait to bake different flavours!

Cupcakes

What have you baked lately?

11 thoughts on “My slight cupcake obsession

  1. So glad you’ve gotten into baking. You’re doing very well for someone who’s just started. Gotta love that 1M tip!

    1. Aw thanks lovely :)

      I need to perfect meringue buttercream! My last batch split. Boo. I like the taste better than cream cheese icing. Plus I need to buy more patty pans. Haha I foresee an expensive exercise ahead!

      1. I prefer butter icing than meringue. Cream cheese is a little too much for me too! IT sure does get expensive.. but so fun and therapeutic.. for me at least :)

  2. Oh yummy! You baked quite a handsome looking batch.
    I haven’t baked for a while for lack of eaters. But I did love cupcakes and macarons.

Leave a Reply

