My day out at Sydney Contemporary

My day out at Sydney Contemporary

H has a thing for obsessing over the latest thing for the apartment, and so after a weekend of dragging me accompanying him to peruse at all sorts of ovens with pyrolytic functions and catalytic liners (cue: eye roll) he offered me a weekend to do activities of my choosing. Naturally I chose to go to a large international art fair, Sydney Contemporary. Early bird tickets were 40% off, I couldn’t say no.

Needless to say there were galleries showcasing pieces from not only around Australia, but around the world. There were some art paintings that were priced well into the hundreds of thousands. I spied some Yayoi Kusama prints from one of the Japanese galleries. There was. So. Much. Eye. Candy. It was all scattered around Carriageworks in Redfern.

Sydney Contemporary

Sydney ContemporaryMy favourite piece has got to be this collage of images from Lyndi Sales. I’m not sure what I like most about it, the colours, the geometry, or the shadows that it casts on the stark wall behind it.

Sydney Contemporary

Sydney Contemporary

Petaluna had a pop up bar deep amongst the artwork. I love how they’ve put up wine glasses as an installation above the bar area.

Sydney Contemporary

There were some taxidermy pieces made from stillborn animals. The calf below was so striking as it hung from the ceiling. It was embedded with precious and semi precious metals and gems.

Sydney Contemporary

H loved this installation of beer and wine bottles that were each fitted with a computer fan that spun at irregular intervals, filling the space with an eerie sound.

Sydney Contemporary

Sydney Contemporary

Sydney Contemporary

Sydney Contemporary

Sydney Contemporary

Oh and Longrain had a pop-up restaurant there, so naturally we had to eat at Carriageworks for lunch. Sydney Contemporary

We got the crispy chicken wings, and a yellow curry with some jasmine rice and roti. It really was the perfect way to end my perfect day of art and culture. <3Sydney Contemporary

7 thoughts on “My day out at Sydney Contemporary

Leave a Reply

