My life in five paragraphs

My life in five paragraphs

My life is really a non-event these days. So apologies for the paragraphs of mundane text. The highlight of my week has got to be making my iPad a secondary screen for my MacBook Pro. It isn’t the best (as I don’t have a retina display, only an iPad 2) but it is useful enough for those times when I’m out and about and need a second screen for when I’m doing some light design work.

On the plus side, I’ve discovered a place near my work that does coffee happy hour between 10:00-11:00 am in the morning. I usually get coffee with soy milk – which is normally a 50 cent surcharge at most places. Anywhere that does it for under is a bargain.

I think I’m becoming more cynical as I grow older. And I’m not really doing it consciously. I’m a bit over things in my life and can’t really be bothered fretting over it as much as I would normally do. Is anyone else noticing this as they get older? I guess maybe I’m realising that things aren’t as important as they used to be.

The Bachelor Australia was abysmal to watch. That said, I’m a little ashamed to admit that I enjoyed it. It was cheap entertainment and I will probably keep watching for a few episodes yet. I still much prefer the American version, although it has waned quite a bit since it first started (as with all reality series).

I got a random email asking me to quote them on the price of a 3-tier cake with butter icing and yellow roses. This is amusing as I’ve never really baked many cakes (other than the odd layer cake here and there). I’m no professional baker by any means. I’m pretty sure they have the wrong person. Oh and for reference, here’s the photo of the cake they wanted me to copy. Umm. What?

IMG_0689

8 thoughts on “My life in five paragraphs

  1. “Today’s news is tomorrow’s fish and chip wrapper” – it’s an old saying but I find myself applying it more and more in my life. I can only worry about the things that really matter, not fret over trivial bullshit.

  2. I don’t think that’s a cynical behavior, perhaps a more mature one, though. I still have yet to move past being neurotic about everything..

    That cake thing is hilarious though, I hope you told him that he’s emailed the wrong place, haha!

    1. I’m not sure sometimes. I’m usually one that worries and frets about every single little thing. I think it’s in my personality. But I am trying to train myself not to care about it all too much. There are better things to worry about in life.

      I didn’t email back actually :S I have a common email address, so I seem to get a lot of junk here and there. I’ve been mistaken for the leader of some women’s rights group.

Leave a Reply

