Ballet madness

Ballet madness

When I was six, I remember wanting nothing more than to go to ballet lessons. I asked my mum if I could and she enrolled me in a ballet class run by an old woman and her even older mother. It didn’t last for very long. I remember there was one girl in particular who was the “alpha female” of the group and bossed the rest of the girls around.

I grew bored of ballet lessons and the associated unpleasantness, but I  loved my ballet shoes for a long time after. They weren’t anything special, just those cheapo Jiffies that my mum had altered with some pink satin ribbon for ankle ties. It seemed the thing to do. Anyway. I loved them so much that I eventually went on to buy some terry fabric Jiffies to wear around the house.  They came in a bunch of colours. Did you ever own a pair of Jiffies?

Jiffies

I found some photos off old eBay listings. I just read a forum saying they aren’t appropriate ballet footwear as they don’t provide sufficient support. Oops.

Fast forward to 2013, I’m still obsessed with ballet flats. I bought two pairs in the past couple of weeks. I still have a couple of ballet flats that remain unused as I still need to spray them with waterproofer, but I just couldn’t resist the flats I got on sale. I got the Bella flats from the Forever New outlet at DFO. The gold sparkle drew me in, and the low heel sealed the deal. At $20 for leather lined shoes, I couldn’t say no. I figure they’d look good with a pair of skinny leg jeans.

forever new bella flats

 

The second pair I got from Sambag. These Tina shiraz ballet flats were originally $175, but were marked down to $52. It was one of those online only sales. I thought twice about this purchase as I still have a few Sambag flats that I haven’t yet work (shame on me). I figure I can resell these if I don’t get around to wearing them, but something tells me I’ll get some decent use out of them. Now to remember to waterproof these!

sambag shiraz tina

Have you bought any bargains lately?

 

6 thoughts on “Ballet madness

  1. I must be one of the few girls who wasn’t interested in ballet. Probably because I knew the mean alpha girls were already doing it and in a small town didn’t want to endure all their bullying outside school too.

    I do love ballet flats though. I tend to wear them for quick visits to the shops and even when I’m walking from the train station to work to save my heels1

Leave a Reply

