Brunching at Kepos Street Kitchen

Brunching at Kepos Street Kitchen

I had a bit more of a foodie weekend than usual. It may have to do with the horrible weather Sydney has had the past few days, coupled with the fact that I’ve been sick this previous week and have been dying to escape the confines of my bedroom.

I’d heard a lot about Kepos Street Kitchen. In my head it was somewhere close to Kitchen by Mike. But that may have more to do with how they both share the word ‘kitchen’ in their title. Anyway. H and I made our way to the Alexandria/Redfern border. We found ourselves on a quaint leafy street, lined with pretty terrace houses. It was the day-after-Mardi-Gras, so the remnants of the day before were still flying proud.

Rainbow pride

The cafe is at the end of the cul-de-sac – it’s a nice little space that appears to be a converted from a residential house. It’s pretty busy when we get there at midday. We wait a little bit at the entrance as the waitress gets us a table ready. I didn’t mind the wait as much as I got a chance to stare at all the pretty pastries and cakes.

Kepos Street Kitchen

She leads us to the back of the cafe, where the rear backyard has been converted into a pergola of sorts, complete with roof shades both to keep out, and let rays of sunshine in. As a nice homely touch, each table has a pot plant overflowing with a range of different herbs.

Kepos Street Kitchen

It definitely was difficult to choose from the offerings on the menu. It all sounded tasty! Kepos offers coffee by The Grounds. I’m always partial to pretty green cups of coffee.

Kepos Street Kitchen

H had his eye on the chorizo omelette, soon realised it was no longer on the menu and opted for the falafel sandwich ($16)  instead. He wasn’t disappointed in the least with the stacked sandwich, bursting with hummus, mint and fresh tabouli. Each bite was crunchy and loaded with flavour. We were going to order a bowl of fries to share, but the waitress informed us they came with a small bowl – which was more than enough for the two of us.

Kepos Street Kitchen

I decided to try baked eggs ($15) for the very first time. I figure might as well try it first done properly than attempt to cook it myself. I absolutely loved it. They had a great mix of spices that worked really well with the tomato shakshuka. It arrived piping hot and steaming. I loved dipping the accompanying sourdough in the coriander tahini. It all was a match made in heaven. Pardon my cliche.

Kepos Street Kitchen

H had a hankering for a sugar hit, so we decided to go ahead and order the churros. They arrived enclosed in a brown paper bag, I assume for the even distribution of the cinnamon sugar. There was a huge dollop of salted caramel, which was absolutely lovely. There are no more words.

Kepos Street Kitchen

Kepos Street Kitchen

Taking a quick glance around at the other tables, I notice that the beef wagyu burger is a popular choice. I’ll definitely be returning for it one day soon.

 

Trading hours:

Sunday Closed
Monday Closed
Tuesday 7:30 am – 3:00 pm
Wednesday 7:30 am – 3:30 pm, 6:00-9:30 pm
Thursday 7:30 am – 3:30 pm, 6:00-9:30 pm
Friday 7:30 am – 3:30 pm, 6:00-9:30 pm
Saturday 8:00 am – 3:00 pm, 6:00-9:30 pm

 

KEPOS STREET KITCHEN
96 Kepos St
Redfern NSW 2016
(02) 9319 3919

2 thoughts on “Brunching at Kepos Street Kitchen

    1. Aw sorry lovely! If it makes you feel any better it makes me hungry each and every time I look at these pics :p

      Haha PS sorry for the delayed reply, getting to all the comments now :S

Leave a Reply

