Kitchen by Mike in Rosebery

Kitchen by Mike in Rosebery

I adore lazy weekends. The last one was just that. H and I decided on a late lunch at Kitchen by Mike. I’d heard a lot about it but I hadn’t realised it was so close. We arrived at around 2:30pm, somewhat concerned that the kitchen would be closing in half an hour (we’d soon find out we needn’t be concerned). Breakfast is served until 11:30am, and lunch from 12pm onwards.

It is set in the most amazing converted warehouse space. Everything from the interior decor to the menus and the aprons the servers wear are so stylised. I love it all. I decide to have the crispy pork belly with a crisp Caesar salad. It is nothing short of amazing. The pork belly melts in your mouth and the skin is crisp and light. The Caesar salad is a distinct highlight for me, a halved baby cos topped with a lusciously creamy dressing and a heap of crunchy bacon.

Pork belly with Caesar salad

H chose the roast chicken with a side of baby carrots and garlic and rosemary focaccia. They give you the option of choosing your own piece of chicken from the pile. The baby carrots are perfectly glazed.

Roast chicken with garlic and rosemary bread

We finished off with two soy mochas and a very rich chocolate mud cake. We just couldn’t say no to it. It cake with a dollop of chantilly cream. Will definitely be back for the breakfast session.

Mud cake

KITCHEN BY MIKE
1/85 Dunning Avenue
Roseberry NSW 2018

2 thoughts on “Kitchen by Mike in Rosebery

    1. I am a sucker for well plated food. I think it is an artform in itself (as nutty as I sound). The servings are indeed small, and probably not the best value for money – however I do find that is the case with organic produce. The food is well made and flavour packed, and smaller servings are better for me personally anyway :p

Leave a Reply

