The low down on watches

The low down on watches

Until a few weeks ago, I had given up on wearing watches. The advent of phones meant that I was always carrying some electronic device that left my wrist free and bare for bangles and bracelets. The chunky watch trend caught my eye, and it drew me back in. The Marc by Marc Jacobs Riviera watch is my current favourite. I bought it in rose gold with multi coloured crystals. Below is the watch in black. Looks pretty schmick.

Marc Jacobs

The Marc by Marc Jacobs Large Blade Chrono watch is also striking in gun-metal grey. Albeit useless for me as I’d have no clue how to use the chronograph functionality. I really do like the metal colouring on this MBMJ watch.

Marc Jacobs

I’ve been increasingly drawn to gold. Not sure why as I’ve been a silver girl for as long as I can remember. This Michael Kors Men’s Runway watch is just the perfect combination. I love the sapphire face with the gold.Marc Jacobs

What do you think of the chunky watch trend? Classic or passing fad?

4 thoughts on “The low down on watches

  1. I have a chunky michael kors rose gold watch. And I always get comments because it is quite big but most comment are quite positive from both guys and girls liking the colour and design. I think it’s more trend based but they don’t cost as much as the high price watches (e.g. rolex) so you can go with the look of these watches without paying too much.

    1. I’m debating whether to get a silver toned watch, but with my olive skin I’m just not sure. I do love that they are super affordable and that you can buy a couple to suit your outfit. The one I bought was around the $200.

  2. I think it’s definitely a passing trend, which is why I haven’t jumped on the bandwagon. That, and I only wear one watch at a time, and my wrists are too tiny for chunky watches but…

    My mother said something interesting to me very recently though when I was drooling over some Skagen and Citizen watches, “Why buy several hundred-dollar watches when you can buy one expensive watch to last a lifetime?”

    1. That’s fair enough. I used to think my wrists were small too, but I guess for me it depends on my outfit. I only have one chunky watch so far that I wear most days. Debating whether to get another.. :S:S

Leave a Reply

