Hit me with your best shot

Hit me with your best shot

Normally coffee has zero effect on me. I can drink it at any time of day and not feel like I can’t sleep, or get those crazy heart palpitations. I’m no coffee connoisseur, but I know what I like, and I know what I don’t like.

This was until last weekend. It was one of those hot, summery days so H and I decided to stop by Don Campos in Alexandria for a cold beverage.

I spied iced coffee on the menu which sounded delicious with whipped cream, an espresso shot and espresso ice cream. Armed with my ignorance, I ordered an iced coffee with soy milk. Let me tell you it was all sorts of amazing. The ice cream was latte flavoured and had real ground up coffee beans. H ordered the same.

Don Campos iced coffee

Anyway. Fast forward to that night. I didn’t go to bed until 4am. Yikes. I just wasn’t sleepy. The interesting thing was the next day I was perfectly fine. Not tired in the least. Anyway. I advice you to try it at your own risk.

I’ll probably stick to my regular soy mocha and lattes for now. I’m loving Campos beans. As well as The Grounds. I found a cafe nearby that stocks the beans and sells them in the pretty green cups with the lovely typography.

IMG_2565

DON CAMPOS
Shop G1/21 Fountain Street
Alexandria NSW
(02) 9690 0090

5 thoughts on “Hit me with your best shot

  1. I LOVE Campos beans!! But my friends say it’s not real coffee because it’s been so watered down with milk. :( (At uni last year I started getting my coffees from another place that used Coffee Roaster beans because I didn’t like the new campus Taste Baguette barista – too bitter).

    Coffee typically doesn’t have much effect on me (I put it down to my dad having been a coffee nut and still is one) unless I have it on early mornings where I have barely eaten anything – in which case, cue the heart palpitations and queasy feelings. I’m not a coffee connoisseur either but I do like it! And I’ll definitely need it tomorrow morning when I’m waking up at 5:30am for work and it’s almost midnight right now and I’m not in bed yet….

    1. Aw haha yeah I love Campos and Mecca at the moment. I agree, Taste varies with their coffee from branch to branch. Despite having Campos beans.

      Those heart palpitations don’t sound good at all! And I’m a late night person too! I’m glad it’s Friday today. I usually stay up until 1am…

  2. i love the coffee at the grounds and i don’t mind the don campos one at fountain street too… i used to really like AllPress! but these days, there are quite a few nice brews out there…5 senses is nice too.

Leave a Reply

