Adventures at Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Adventures at Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Sculpture by the Sea at Bondi Beach is an annual tradition for me. I’ve been visiting for a number of years now and I’m always amazed by the creativity of the artists to work within such a unique space. I went on a lazy Sunday afternoon. The clouds looked menacing for most of the morning, but cleared up to reveal nothing but golden sunshine rays.

Another tradition I have is to kick off the stroll amongst the artwork with a hearty lunch at Hurricanes. We’ve always bought some take out from the express store and picnic on the grassy knolls overlooking the beach. Nothing could be better! It was one of those moments where you can’t help but feel a little proud to be living in an amazing country.

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Gorgeous scenery. Just a warning that it gets a little more photo heavy. I might put the rest under a cut. It was so hard to cull the images!

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

I loved this glass sculpture. That said there have been some similar ones in previous years. It is just so stunning against the crashing waves in the background.

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

There were a few gorgeous geometric pieces. I don’t know what it is but I love things arranged neatly. Must be the OCD in me.

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

This installation made the most intriguing sound. The wind would turn the feather mills and produced a xylophone-like song.

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Reminiscent of milk bars, I absolutely loved the colourful ribbon art.

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Not too sure about the rabbit and dog on a horse slash donkey. Hmm. This is the censored side.

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

More geometry. I love it.

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Reflections in giant rectangular prisms.

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

This reminds me of the melting ice cream truck a few years back…

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

Sculpture by the Sea 2012

It was a great day out. It involved quite a bit of walking (read: we walked from Bondi to Coogee). Good exercise but I needed a slurpee at 7-11 to keep me going mid-walk. It was refreshing in the heat.

If you haven’t yet seen the sculptures, you have this weekend to pop down before they disappear until next year!

Leave a Reply

