The Beltree, Hunter Valley

The Beltree, Hunter Valley

This is a bit of a continuation of my previous post on my recent day trip to the Hunter. I’m not too familiar with the area, so my friends and I were asking the local wineries for recommendations for restaurants. We were directed in the direction of The Beltree. A quaint little Italian trattoria hidden in the valley.

When we arrived just a little after midday, the place was bustling with activity. There was a steady stream of people coming in to eat. We walked in to a lovely open space with a patio set with tables and chairs. It overlooked the garden and was just so peaceful and serene.

The Beltree

Let me just warn you now, this post will be somewhat photo intensive. There are a whole load of photos under the cut!

The Beltree

We sat out in the sun on the patio and enjoyed the warmth. As we were waiting for our food I spied the chefs come out picking fresh herbs and flowers from the surrounding gardens.

The Beltree

We started off with some zucchini flowers to share on the table. They were perfectly fresh flowers in a crisp tempura batter, stuffed with shredded whiting and potato puree. Absolutely lovely. They were accompanied with garlic aioli.

Zucchini flowers

I opted to share the pork belly “for two” with one of my travelling companions. We commented that it seemed more like pork belly for four. We had to share it around the table to finish it off! The crackling was the best I’ve ever had, thin, crispy, not too oily, and perfectly seasoned. It crossed off all the boxes for me.

Pork belly

Another in our party ordered the Italian sausages with beans. It looked appetising as it came out covered in lashings of shaved parmesan cheese.

Italian sausages and beans

I was definitely a satisfied girl after this meal! I’ve put it on my shortlist of places to return.

THE BELTREE
266 Hermitage Road
Pokolbin NSW Australia

Leave a Reply

