Manicure: Gold tape nail art stripes

Manicure: Gold tape nail art stripes

Summer is most definitely in full swing in Sydney today. Except for the mornings and evenings where it goes as low as 10 degrees. Which I (nor my wardrobe) don’t fully comprehend. I’ve been noticing my nail polish colour choice gradually go from dark purples and blues, to pastels and shiny metallic shades. I much prefer summer to winter, probably because its easier to escape the heat into air conditioning than to find a place that has adequate heating.

But I digress. My latest nail adventures involve tape. I got a whole lot of striping tape in a load of different metallic colours for cheap off eBay. It came with a milky white one that I don’t use often, so I decided to use it and try my hand at some tape nail art.

Gold stripe nail art

I used a gold base colour polish Bys Midas Touch, topped with my go-to nude polish, OPI Tickle my Francey.

Gold nail tape art

OPI Gold and nude nail art

Here are some tips I discovered along the way for tape nail art:

  • Make the tape less tacky by sticking it on your hand first before placing it on your nail. This ensures that it doesn’t bring up the last layer of polish you lay down when you peel the tape off of your nail!
  • I’ve read a lot of different tips out there, but personally after I stick on the tape, I put on a thin (but runny) layer of polish on and peel the tape immediately to ensure crisp lines.
  • Tweezers are extremely useful for picking up edges of tape whilst your nails are still wet.
  • Have fun and experiment with different tape shapes and sizes!
Leave a Reply

