Brunch at Wilbur’s Place

Brunch at Wilbur’s Place

I’m always on the hunt for a gourmet sandwich place for brunch. I had read a few review of Wilbur’s Place and knew this was a place that I needed to visit. They had me at ‘pork crackling’. H and I arrived there mid afternoon, and there was still a steady stream of people for the lunch time sitting. It isn’t a large cafe by any means, but its lovely and cosy and was an oasis of warmth and hearty food on a rainy winter day.

Brisket Sambo with Slaw & Dijonnaise

H opted for the Brisket Sambo with Slaw & Dijonnaise. It came out piping hot, and all too appetising. The amazing aromas wafted towards me as the waitress set the plate down.

Suckling Pig Roll, Mustard Pickles, Dill Mayo & Crackling

I chose the Suckling Pig Plate, Mustard Pickles, Dill Mayo, White Beans & Crackling. I knew I had to have this dish when I spied it on the menu. The crisp crackling and tender-fall-apart-in-your-mouth pork was all that and more. Of course the beans were a lovely creamy addition.

I was holding out for the Toasted Brioche Ice Cream Sandwich with Caramel for dessert, but as luck would have it, their freezers were broken and all the ice cream had melted. Oh well. A reason to visit again in the near future!

WILBUR’S PLACE
36 Llankelly Place
Potts Point, NSW

Leave a Reply

