Baking Adventures: Chocolate layer cake with cream cheese frosting

Baking Adventures: Chocolate layer cake with cream cheese frosting

It was S’s house warming yesterday, and I decided to take along a chocolate layer cake with cream cheese frosting for dessert. I followed a Donna Hay recipe from her magazine. I admit I was a bit apprehensive at first, as reading the recipe seemed to be greatly involved. She recommends using a 20cm tin – I thought this too big and hunted around (and found) a 15cm tin instead. It wasn’t an easy thing to find!

A similar recipe is the chocolate layer cake from the Junior Masterchef series, found here. I wanted white cream cheese frosting though, for a lovely contrast.

I halved the original recipe, and ended up with my chocolate layer cake. It was super tall, and somewhat difficult to transport. Hah. It was surprisingly much heavier iced too!

Chocolate layer cake

Chocolate Layer Cake

Eaten Cake

2 thoughts on “Baking Adventures: Chocolate layer cake with cream cheese frosting

Leave a Reply

