Degustation Dinner: Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

Degustation Dinner: Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

After having a Sugar Hit at the Glass Brasserie last month, we decided to go back and sample some of the food. I saw a few dishes come out to other tables that night, and it looked too good to not come back.

We opted for the degustation, and I gotta tell you, it isn’t for the faint hearted. We did order an extra side of parmesan truffle fries which may have pushed us over the edge. But I think it was worth it.

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

We started off with the bread. Let me tell you about the bread. It was served warm. With a little dish of olive oil (obviously Luke Mangan’s). One half was a lovely cinnamon-scented fruit bread, while the other was a soft and crusty white bread. I could have eaten that on its own and been completely content with myself.

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

The Amuse-Bouche. It had some interesting flavours and textures. I can’t say I’ve ever had caviar to compare this with.

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

Second course was a Hiramasa kingfish sashimi, ginger, eshallot and Persian feta. I think this was one of my top favourite dishes of the night. The ginger was a prominent tasting note, which complemented the fish nicely and added a palatable texture to the dish.

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

Third course, organic egg  omelette of blue swimmer crab meat, enoki mushroom and herb salad in a miso mustard broth. This was particularly tasty. The salty sweet of the crab meat was interesting against the silky egg texture. I’m always amazed by flavour combinations that work really well.

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

The aforementioned parmesan and truffle fries. These were so good. I do wish they had been a bit more on the crunchy side, but I guess you wouldn’t get the same truffle flavour.

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

Next course was the quail with dukkah, jamon, pear and agresto. I am quite fond of dukkah. I tried it for the first time mixed with cheese. My first time eating quail too. Tasted like chicken. Hah.

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

This was the truffle poached jewfish with warm cucumber, garlic flower, onion, peas, white asparagus and shimeji. The garlic flowers piqued my curiosity, but they didn’t taste like anything much on their own. The flavours permeated the fish well.

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

Probably the course H looked forward to the most, Darling Downs Queensland beef fillet, cauliflower custard, caremelised fig and endive. The beef was delicious, but it was the cauliflower custard that caught my attention. Soft and silky, it looked and felt like a panna cotta, but had 100% cauli flavour. Loved it.

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

Moving on to the cheese plate. A perfect mix of hard and soft cheeses with fig paste. Mmm.

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

The waiter was lovely enough to oblige and provide us two different desserts. The first was a crème brûlée, served in a shallow dish to maximise crunch and custard ratio. This was really good, and I’d definitely come back for this!

Glass Brasserie at the Hilton
Milk chocolate bavarois, tonka bean crème brûlée, caramel sorbet & salted peanuts was the second dessert. This was what was served at the Sugar Hit this year. It was still a lovely salty sweet dessert.

Overall I was pretty impressed by the food at Glass. I’d definitely return one day in the future. Even if it is just for the brûlée.

GLASS BRASSERIE
Level 2, 488 George Street,
Sydney, Australia 2000

4 thoughts on “Degustation Dinner: Glass Brasserie at the Hilton

Leave a Reply

