Etch Restaurant by Justin North

Etch Restaurant by Justin North

I purchased one of those group deals for Etch Restaurant a while back. I’ve always been curious about this restaurant, created by Justin North, who also happens to run Becasse and Charlie and Co. Kind of knew that we couldn’t go wrong. The deal was for two people, with a set menu. It was a limited menu compared to the usual, but I didn’t think anything (in terms of quality) was sacrificed. It felt like good value for money.

Etch by Justin North

The interiors were lovely. I mentioned in another previous post, I thought it was very country chic. It had a very French vibe about it, so naturally we had to get some French wine. Everything from the wallpaper, to the metal rooster statue that held the salt flakes. There are a few photos, so I might put it under a cut.

Etch by Justin North

Bread and olive oil is just too tempting these days. I keep reminding myself to cut out the excess carbs, but for times like these, one just has to order the carbs. The turkish bread was gently heated, and was lovely with the olive oil. H and I wondered if they baked the bread fresh at Becasse bakery!

Etch by Justin North

For starters, I got the caramelised pork belly, crispy prawn, pickled Granny Smith with cider vinaigrette. It came in a medallion form, and I remained completely entranced with how lovely pork belly can be in a circular shape. It was crunchy and juicy and tender. All you would want a piece of pork to be. The prawns were tempura-eque, accompanied with a generous crunch. There were also apple puree blobs that added to the flavour hit nicely.

Etch by Justin North

H got the confit of petuna ocean trout, smoked scallop with radish wasabi. It was presented like artwork. It had colourful edible petuna blooms laced with the fresh fish. It is beyond any taste combination I could ever describe, but truly tasted as good as it looked. I’ve been tempted to add to the herb garden with edible flowers, but I wouldn’t even know which dish to add them to, or where to start!

Etch by Justin North

We ordered two mains to share. The first was chargrilled veal rump, sarladaise potato with malt vinegar jus. I’m normally not one to order veal. I guess I’m not used to eating it. It was super tender and tasted closer to beef than other veal I’ve tasted. It came with a buttery sauce, and what looked like liver pate. I think this was the malt vinegar jus.

Etch by Justin North

The baked snapper, scallop and squid, cauliflower bhaji and curry emulsion was the other main course we ordered. The frothy curry emulsion was an interesting sight. The fish was flaky, and I loved the smooth cauliflower bhaji. At once stage I could have sworn I was eating potato puree!

Etch by Justin North

We decided to get some provencal potatoes, aged prosciutto and smoked garlic mayonnaise on the side. Boy did we not regret! The potatoes were lovely and crisp on the outside, soft and fluffy on the inside. And the prosciutto was something I’d never even consider as something I’d combine with this dish. I was pleasantly surprised.

Etch by Justin North

Dessert 1 was a Brillat Savarin cheesecake, champagne and mandarin sorbet. This was cheesecake in its most unconventional form. The citrus mandarin flavour permeated through every morsel on this dish. It came with a biscuit crumb that I enjoyed. The sorbet resembled egg yolk, but tasted more sweet and tart than anything else.

Etch by Justin North

Dessert 2 was a caramelised date tart, earl grey tea syrup and burnt butter ice cream. The lovely custard was layered upon a bed of smooshed dates. The tart crust was buttery and rich. I was curious about the burnt butter ice cream, but it just tasted like vanilla and caramel ice cream to me.

Etch by Justin North

Overall I enjoyed the Etch experience. I would definitely return again without any deals or vouchers to sample the true menu.

ETCH RESTAURANT
62 Bridge Street
Sydney NSW 2000
Australia

UPDATE (Nov 2012): Unfortunately Etch Restaurant is now closed.

Leave a Reply

