Standard

Sugar Hit 2011: Ocean Room

This was the last Sugar Hit for me as October aka Good Food Month comes to an end. I’d been meaning to head over to the Ocean Room for dinner but have never gotten the opportunity. So when I found out they were offering a Gorgonzola Panna Cotta for Sugar Hit, it piqued my interest and I knew this was my opportunity! H was lovely enough to organise a booking for 7:30 pm, so we had some time to kill after work. We decided to head over to Opera Bar for some pre-dinner drinks to enjoy the awesome weather that Sydney has been blessed with this month!

Harbour Bridge
Gorgeous view of the harbour from Opera Bar.
Mr Seagull
He was foraging for food from the other patrons. He managed to get wedges.
Drinks by the harbour
Drinks by the harbour. H in his suit and me in my pretty pink dress.

I’ve walked past the Ocean Room on a number of occasions and have always been curious of the interior decor. They have this amazing installation of what look like wooden poles suspended from the ceiling. It made me feel like I was under this giant wave. I wish I took photos, but I didn’t want to look like I was taking photos of the customers :S!

The Ocean Room
The Ocean Room

We started off with some tuna cornets, which consisted of marinated blue fin tuna tar tare sitting in a crunchy nori rice cracker cornet. I’ve only ever seen cornets on Masterchef, and they look difficult to make! The tuna was fresh and went lovely with the crunchy salty flavour of the cornets. They were quite tasty and left me wanting more.

Tuna Cornets
Tuna Cornets

Next on the entrée list were the tempura house-made calamari pops with green curry salt and crispy mint leaves. Having a herb garden means fresh herbs for cooking 24/7. No matter how last minute you decide on what to make for dinner. I have a newfound appreciation for herbs and adore how they drastically change the flavour of a meal. The calamari pops were nice, but reminded me of something I’d tasted before. I do wish they had been a bit more crunchier on the outside!

Calamari Pops
Calamari Pops

The crispy king prawn with wasabi aioli and petite wasabi croquette sounded like something I definitely had to try. I was expecting a big hit of wasabi, but it was quite subtle and creamy and complemented the fresh seafood perfectly.

Wasabi Prawns
Wasabi Prawns

For mains, we decided to share the pork belly “cout de sel” served with spicy kochujang sauce, pickled nashi pear and citrus. It arrived to our table still encased in its salt crust. Again I’d only ever seen this on Masterchef, but it supposedly keeps the juices in whilst cooking it thoroughly. It served its purpose, because it was so succulent and bursting with flavour. We had a couple of sushi rolls, but I didn’t get a chance to take some photos. We were too excited at the prospect of dragon rolls that I completely forgot!

Shiogama Pork
Shiogama Pork

We did however get some spiced french fries with shichimi pepper mayonnaise on the side. I would recommend these a hundred times over. They had some special seasoning that made them so addictive. I could eat these without the mayo, but of course, they are amplified times ten jillion when coupled with the mayo (like that was possible?).

Spicy Potato Fries
Spicy Potato Fries

Finally it was time for dessert! I hadn’t even finished my rosé when out came dessert wine. I am such a sucker for the sweet stuff. I could live off dessert wine, but it probably wouldn’t be advisable.

Waiting for Dessert
Waiting for Dessert

Dessert came in the form of a gorgonzola scented panna cotta, caramelised banana, jumai jelly and drizzled in shoyu caramel. I’ll be honest, I really didn’t know what to expect from the panna cotta combination. It was creamy and well balanced. The pomegranate seeds were a cute addition. I’d never tasted them before. Plus you can never lose with caramel.

Gorgonzola Panna Cotta
Gorgonzola Panna Cotta

So on that sweet note, I say goodbye to Good Food Month! Until next year.

OCEAN ROOM SYDNEY
Ground Level
Overseas Passenger Terminal
Circular Quay West
The Rocks Sydney NSW 2000

Leave a Reply

